The kale seeds I planted two days ago are already showing their radicles. That was fast.

kale seeds germinating

These seeds were from one of the packages I got the other day from theseed starting workshop. I used moistened potting soil with a little of my homemade compost as my planting medium. I puta few seeds in each cup, sprinkled a little more soil over the seeds and watered again. Then I put a piece of plastic wrap over the top to hold in the moisture. Ikept the “tray” out of direct sunlight. Two days later, we have germination. I sprinkled a little more soil over the seeds and put them under the lights. Now we’ll see how long before top growth on these.

The subject of today’s Building Urban Gardens (BUGs) class was vegetable gardening. Our presenter was Jeanne Nolan of The Organic Gardener, Ltd. She and her husband (isn’t that sweet?) run a business where they design, install and maintain gardens. They also run the Farm-in-the-Zoo, which is something else I didn’t know existed, housed at the Lincoln Park Zoo. The zoo has always had free admission. I haven’t been there in years. There’s also the Lincoln Park Conservatory…also free. Haven’t been there in years either.

Well, like EG’s Master Garderner class, I didn’t really learn anything new about vegetable gardening, but the presenter mentioned an article she had read about: Is Dirt the New Prozac. “Recent studies indicate that treatment with a specific soil bacterium, Mycobacterium vaccae, may be able to alleviate depression.”

I think it works. I always feel better after I play in the dirt

Happy Gardening!!!

5 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    March 8, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Dirt is the next prozac….I agree fully! It’s so relaxing/rewarding, and let’s me unwind at the end of the day. Thanks for showing the article..

    EG

  2. gardengoodies said,

    March 8, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    You’re welcome (and welcome back from your trip).

  3. Judy said,

    March 16, 2009 at 6:37 am

    I would have to agree — Dirt is Prozac to me LOL! It’s just something about that little 24’x24′ garden space I have. Peace, Tranquility …..

    I’m growing Kale for the first time this year too. So far it’s really doing well!

  4. gardengoodies said,

    March 16, 2009 at 11:48 am

    You’re preaching to the choir here. Gardening is one of the best stress relievers I know.

    My kale germinated quickly, but it hasn’t done much after that…or maybe I’m just impatient.

  5. June 3, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    […] I ever say the kale was coming along quickly?  This stuff is almost three months old.  The only reason it’s still in the ground is […]


Leave a Reply

