Petite Post

Okay, I’m cheating a little here.  I’ve turned over a new leaf to post something on a regular basis , but it’s technically 12:07 a.m. when I am starting this post.  I’m going to cheat by setting the publish time back a little.  I’m thinking if you cheat and confess all in one felled swoop, it can’t be held against you too much.

So, what I did today was planted some kale, because my mother has been dropping hints about how good it is.  I planted some peas, sugar snap peas.  I reconfigured my light stand setup (pictures coming soon).  These are to be grown indoors until transplanted outside. 

I took the marigold seedlings that I had doubled up on and gave them separate quarters.  I got to thinking that I was putting 12 seedlings in jeopardy by doubling up on them, and by separating them I’ll given 24 seedlings a fair chance.  It’s kind of like a womb carrying more than one baby at a time.  Pick a number out of the air.  Eight did I hear you say?  Octuplets?  It’s better to have one plant/baby in a growing cell/womb because the one gets 100 percent of the benefit of the growing condition instead of sharing limited resources a bunch of different ways.  This way I’ll have a good shot at healthy plants.

I also bought pvc pipes to make a row cover for one of the raised beds so I can put out the cool season veggies a little early

That’s it for tonight.

Happy Gardening!!!!

p.s.  My Garden Girl seeds came.  I got bok choy.  That’s a new veggie for me.  Thanks, Garden Girl!

4 Comments

  1. March 6, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Ah…by this time next week I should have my seedlings started! I’m going to do everything in homemade soil blocks, and will only put one seed per block. Like you, I want each little plant to get off to a good start with room to grow.

    I got bok choy from Garden Girl, too. I’ve never grown it either, so it will be a new experience for me.

    • gardengoodies said,

      March 6, 2009 at 9:05 pm

      I know you’re excited to get going full steam. It’s so hard for me to plant just one seed. I’m still using my ten cent packages or my free seeds, and you get so many in a package. I always worry if they cost only ten cents, maybe they all won’t germinate, but they do and I end up with too many. I did basil, and I figure 12 plants is way more than I’ll even keep, but I put four of five seeds in each little section (egg carton), and it seems like they all germinated. Those first two leaves smell as strong as a full grown plant.

  2. March 7, 2009 at 10:03 am

    I think I’ve talked my son-in-law into planting a garden this year, so I will plant twice the seeds I need and, if there are more than I can use, the extras will go to him. Over planting is a must. If I have room for 8 lettuce plants, I don’t want to be stuck with only seven! I’m going to try to utilize every square inch of my garden this year, and pay close attention to succession planting. That will probably leave me with more than I can use, but I’m sure I’ll be able to find someone else who can use the excess. Our local senior citizen center always has a table set up for excess produce.

  3. gardengoodies said,

    March 7, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    The only down side of keeping the extra plants is that they take up space. Hopefully your son can take the extras sooner than later so you can have room for all the plants you want to grow. I’m running into that problem already. And then when you give the plants away, you have to hope whoever you give them to will care about them as much as you did. Last year I had too many of everything I grew and shared them, but a lot of the plants that were “adopted out” didn’t make it.

    That’s nice about the senior citizen center. I’m sure they appreciate getting the fresh produce.


Leave a Reply

