Use those coupons and use those customer rewards.

I must have seven of those little tags for your keyring that you get when you join the customer clubs at different stores.  Some stores have better benefits than others.

A while ago I got a coupon from Office Depot for $25 off a $25 order.  What’s the trick to getting a juicy coupon like that?  Stop going to the store for a while. 

My son also has an Office Depot Worklife Rewards  card which he almost never uses, and he always get better coupons than I do for the same sale.  Both coupon books will come in the mail, but his might be $20 off of a $50 order while mine might be $20 off of a $75 order.  But since Staples opened up in our neighborhood I’ve been shopping at Staples and not at Office Depot, and Office Depot sent me that nice coupon.

The coupon excludes technology items, so my choice was basically office supplies.  And since I didn’t need anything, I just got a box of paper.  The paper was the store brand and it was on sale.  They also had the cheap software regularly priced at $9.99 buy one/get one free.  I found an invoicing software  program and one of those Print Master type programs.  The print program was pretty basic, but the invoicing software was great.  You can invoice, set up accounts, print checks, track customers and accounts.  You can even set it up online to take credit card payments.   (More functionality than I need, but it’s nice to know it’s there.)

After using my coupon, my bill was only $15 and some change.  Then yesterday I got the card with the value of the rewards I had earned during that period.  You get a certain percentage back on the total amount of your purchases, and for store brand merchandise the value is doubled.  My store credit is $14.00 and some change.

So, a box of 10 reams of paper, a really good invoicing program and a pretty average print program for the net total of $1.

Coupons and customer rewards.  In the words of Martha Stewart, they’re a good thing.

Happy Gardening Shopping

2 Comments

  1. March 2, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    You amaze me! You find the BEST deals…I’m always a day late and a dollar short.

    I did go to http://www.Kashi.com today and send for a free entree.

    Granny

  2. gardengoodies said,

    March 3, 2009 at 8:51 am

    Office Depot sends you your reward on a little card. I was shocked (in a good way) when I saw it was more than a few pennies. Now if only the gas, light, and phone companies would have a half price sale.


Leave a Reply

