Computing While Unenlightened…a dangerous thing to do.

You know how that window pops up “Undates Are Available”?  Well, I took an update.

“Turn off any open programs before you begin the install.”  I followed the instructions and started the download.  It was taking forever, so I went away to do something more constructive than look at an unmoving screen.  When I came back, I get to see a message I’ve never seen before:  “Windows Recovery” is trying to automatically fix Windows problems.  Guess what?  It couldn’t fix it.  I must have talked to five different people trying to figure out what was wrong.  As soon as I said I took the update, without fail I was asked, “Why did you do that?”

So, the moral of this story is do not presume all updates are good for your computer.

Lucky for me, between tidbits of information from everybody I talked to I figured out how to save my files and get back up and rolling.

Second moral of this story is BACKUP, BACKUP, BACKUP.

Even though I was only down a few days, my blogaholish was causing me some serious withdrawal pains.

Happy Gardening Safe Computing!!!!

4 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    February 20, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Sorry, Cheryl. That’s unfortunate. I always re-format my computer at least once per year, just to keep things running smoothly. Sometimes it’s dangerous to click on things that seem real. Anyway, I’m glad you’re back to blogging.

    EG

  2. February 20, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    I usually have two computers on hand, a desktop and a laptop….or two laptops, so I keep copies of everything on both machines. However, this year I loaned my older laptop to my son and didn’t bring the desktop to AZ, so I am just hoping everything goes well for just 2-1/2 more weeks! Of course, I started having a few unexplained issues in the past couple of days. Like a quick flash of the “blue screen of death” and a shutdown. Then, just yesterday, weird lines on the monitor. Please, dear computer gods, keep it safe for just a few more days?

  3. gardengoodies said,

    February 21, 2009 at 8:18 am

    EG-When you say re-format, are you saying you put the computer back to factor specs by reinstalling Windows? That’s what I ended up doing and it’s running much faster than before.

    I won’t be doing any more clicking on updates, but Vista almost takes over your computer. After I reinstalled Windows, the next morning when I turned the computer back on it automatically installed 56 updates. Hopefully all is well now.

    Granny-I’m praying for you. One of the people I talked to who had a friend that fixes computers said he’s had a lot of business lately with Windows not loading properly.

    Only 2 1/2 more weeks. I know you’re excited!!

  4. engineeredgarden said,

    February 21, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Yes, Cheryl – that’s exactly what I do.

    EG


Leave a Reply

