I’m still alive and (relatively) well

Time does fly even when there’s not a lot to do.  It’s been more than a week since my last post.  I’d like to say I’ve been putting this unseasonably good weather to good use, but I haven’t.  Saturday we got temps not quite high enough to break the 133-year-old record of 59, but we were close at 56.  And then on Tuesday we had another above 60 day.  Straaaaange weather.

The only thing I got done in the gardening arena was to take a peek at the pile of leaves in the yard.  The leaves haven’t degraded much at all, not near the top anyway.  Hopefully the wormies were busy doing their thing at the core of the pile and I’ll find some nicely composted leaves at the bottom of the pile I’ll be able to use.

That’s it for me.  I’m glad my southern co-bloggers have something interesting for me to peek at these days.

Happy Gardening!!!!

6 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    February 12, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Before you know it, spring will arrive. I bet those worms are doing great things for you! My compost piles are full of them! Woo Hoo!

    EG

  2. February 12, 2009 at 11:12 am

    10 days. Ten.

    Missed you…I was beginning to worry! Petite posts are welcomed 😀

    Granny

  3. Liisa said,

    February 12, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Cheryl,
    Before you know it you’ll be out in the garden. I have the next four days off of work and it’s going to rain for the next week! I was hoping to get some work done around the yard. Well I guess I’ll just have to be happy starting seeds in the cold frame and gluing carrot seeds to a cheap napkin.

    Liisa

  4. gardengoodies said,

    February 12, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    EG-I guess spring is a little closer. I saw one of my ground covers starting to leaf out today. Funny…I didn’t get as much of a kick out of that as seeing Granny’s lettuce last week.

    Granny-Next time I’ll be a good girl and check in more often. I don’t want to be worrying anybody.

    Liisa-What a co-in-ki-dink. I did the homemade seed tape this weekend too. (I forgot all about that). It’s the first time I’m trying it.

    Hope you don’t get flooded out with all that rain.

  5. February 12, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Oooooh…home made seed tapes! It’s a must-do for me this year, and Liisa has been sharing my brain. I had a napkin from Jack-in-the-Box the other day, and it disintegrated in my hand when I got it wet. My very first thought…use cheap napkins for gluing the carrot seeds!

    Cheryl, you MUST blog about your seed tapes! We will perfect this method yet.

    Granny

  6. gardengoodies said,

    February 13, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    You know what? If I knew where my camera was that day I definitely would have blogged about it. I usually keep up with my camera like I keep up with my phone. But, yeah, give me a few days and I’ll show my version.

    Wow, Jack-in-the-Box. I thought they were all gone out of business.


Leave a Reply

