Ahhhh…there’s a new smell in the air

First it was Patti Moreno at Garden Girl TV.  Yesterday it was Granny at Annie’s Granny.  Today it’s Carol at May Dreams Gardens.

What do these ladies have in common?  They have sniffed out the most satisfying thing a gardener can find this time of the year.  Not a bargain, not a mark-down, not a two-fer.  It’s FREE SEEDS.

seeds

Garden Girl offered free seeds if you signed up for her news letter, which is a great read by the way.

Granny found a site that so shall you ask, so shall you be given.  I asked.  Now I’m going to send them a self-addressed stamped envelope and hopefully be given free seeds soon.

Over at Carol’s place, just leave a comment and you’ll be entered to win free seeds.

Better than a bargain is free, so head on over to see these ladies and grab your free seeds.  And if there’s anybody out there in the cosmos who knows of any more free seeds to be gotten I’d love to know where they are.

seed packet template

Here’s a cute idea.  You can use this template to make personalized seed packets.

Happy Gardening!!!

6 Comments

  1. January 23, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Free is GOOD! I am ecstatic about my garden seeds this year. I mean, how cool is it to get most of them for Christmas, and the rest of them for free? I think I only have one packet of seeds left to buy, and that’s only if I decide start my own pepper plants!

  2. gardengoodies said,

    January 23, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    You racked up this year…I know you feel good about that.

    I was so glad to read your post. I clicked straight over to the winter sown web site. Now I just have to send them the stamped envelope. Hope they include some bell peppers. They’re my favorite and I’ll definitely start some inside.

  3. January 23, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    I’m sure I’ll be buying bell pepper seeds, so I will be glad to share with you. I saved some from a gigantic red bell that I bought at the store last year, but it’s hard telling what I’ll end up with, or if they are even viable. I guess I should try a few right now to see if they will grow.

  4. gardengoodies said,

    January 23, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    That’s nice of you to offer, but I’ve still got some from last year. I saved some from a big green pepper, but it just occurred to me that the red peppers are the mature peppers and you’re supposed to save seeds from the mature peppers. I’ll have to do a little research on that.

    But…if you’ve got or are getting the mini bells I’d love a few. Somebody offered earlier, but I didn’t take her up on the offer. I’m going to see if I can find the post.

    I bought a couple of habanero peppers (a/k/a the hottest peppers on earth) just to try to save the seeds. If you want to take a chance on trying those, I’ll be glad to share. My father-in-law likes them and I’m going to try to grow them for him. They are hootttt.

    I’ve got seeds from cherry tomatoes I grew last year if you’re interested.

  5. January 24, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    I don’t think I can handle habaneros, thanks! I did save some jalapeno seeds, again from a purchased one. I’ll buy a seed starter mix and get some of these peppers started, hopefully next week. They are slow to germinate, and I’m not sure any of the seed is even viable, so it will be a learning experience! I’ll keep an eye out for the baby bells, but I also would like some of the really big red bells and maybe Gypsy, which I grew one year and were lovely and really abundant. Oh my, I am really running out of garden space with all these plans. I may have to forgo the strawberries this year to make room for all the tomatoes and peppers.

  6. gardengoodies said,

    January 24, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    I don’t mess with the habaneros either, but if I can get even one plant growing for my father-in-law he’ll be so happy. And it will mean more to me if I grow it from seed instead of buying a starter plant.

    I feel like I’m in pre-school when I look at you guys’ seed lists. I’ve never even heard of Gypsy peppers. I look on the package and if it says “big” or “good producer,” that’s good enough for me.

    You guys are teaching me a few things…and it’s appreciated.


Leave a Reply

