All is not lost with the lettuce

Nah.  The lettuce is toast.  It never recovered from the last cutting…or maybe I didn’t recover.  The leaves were so pretty and I enjoyed just looking at them.  Once the pretty leaves were gone, I totally neglected the rest of the lettuce.  The Plant Protective Services people would have thrown me in jail if they knew.

I guess the gardening gods felt sorry for me because here’s what I found last night, just in time for Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day.

 01-15-09_Bachelor Button

This bachelor button popped up in the tray with the lettuce I transplanted and brought in the house.  And because I try to embrace a live and let live attitude I let it grow.  The stem is zig-zaggy because I kept pulling it under the lights, but we have a bloom and even a few more buds on the plant.  YEAH!!!

01-15-09_Bachelor Button (2)

Happy Gardening!!!

10 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    January 15, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Cheryl – sorry to hear that about your lettuce. The last photo I saw of it was looking great, though!

    EG

  2. January 15, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Oh! Makes me want to get out my neglected Bachelor Button seed and grow some. I love blue flowers.

  3. gardengoodies said,

    January 15, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    EG-Thanks. It was fun while it lasted. I’m going to make myself be satisfied with keeping the parsley, sage and rosemary plants alive until it’s time to start the seedlings.

  4. gardengoodies said,

    January 15, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Hilery-It was a real surprise when I realized that this was a Bachelor Button seedling. The spot where I transplanted the lettuce from was on the other side of the yard from where the Bachelor Buttons grew. These must be the easiest flowers in the world to grow.

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment.

  5. January 16, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Blue is my favorite color, so I’m lovin’ it! You are getting an unexpected treat in January! Now you’ll have to try to grow some more lettuce…oh well. [And this time, be good to it, so the PPS doesn’t come after you:)]
    Jan

  6. gardengoodies said,

    January 16, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    Jan-I’m going to practice responsible planned planthood so that my next lettuce babies will be able to live their adolescence and adulthood with plenty of elbow room and lots of sunshine. No more seeds will get planted around here for the next couple of months.

    Thanks for the comment and I promise not to give the PPS anything else to worry about.

  7. January 17, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    That’s nice blue flower for a winter’s day. Better luck with your next stand of lettuce and thanks for joining in for bloom day.

  8. Melissa said,

    January 17, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    What a beautiful bachelor button, Now if only the bachelors of the world looked as nice 🙂

  9. gardengoodies said,

    January 17, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Carol-Thanks for stopping by. Bloom Day is a cool idea. Wish I had participated in the summer when I had lots of blooms, but I’ll definitely be there this summer.

  10. gardengoodies said,

    January 17, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    Melissa-Why, MRS. Ruiz. What are you doing looking at bachelors?


Leave a Reply

