Happy New Year

I can honestly say this year I have enjoyed gardening more than any other time I’ve gardened with the exception of the couple summers we had a whole city lot to work with. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed gardening in my raised beds and my homemade self-watering containers, two firsts for me.

I can even say I’ve grown as a person because of gardening this year. I’ve become more conscious of the environment and attempt to do my part to reduce my carbon footprint. I’m more conscious of how animals are treated before they become breakfast, lunch or dinner…and I still haven’t bought any beef or pork except for a package of hotdogs, and I only ate one. We did have corned beef for Christmas…and, ooooh, was it good. But I get a pass on that one because my daughter bought it. I just cooked it…and ate it.

I discovered blogging this year. It’s so nice to peek in on the lives of people who are passionate about the things that turn you on. And as crazy as it may sound to a non-gardener, playing in the dirt kind of grounds me (no pun intended) and makes me feel one with nature. My tag line (I think that’s what it’s called) says “Gardening is my Therapist.” It’s so true. If I get upset or stressed out, playing in the dirt makes me feel better instantly. Turning my itty-bitty pile of compost makes me feel better. Picking a few ripe tomatoes and popping them in my mouth makes me feel better. Even looking at pictures of other folks’ gardens on the internet make me feel good.

I’ve “met” nice fellow gardeners through blogging. There’s EG, who’s still posting every day about his garden; Annie’s Grannie, who’s been giving us guided tours of her excursions in Arizona for the last couple months; Sinfonian, whose enthusiasm that shows in his blog made me want to start my own blog; The Frugal Girl who makes me feel guilty every time I throw spoiled food from the fridge into the garbage. These are just a few of the places I visit on a fairly regular basis.

The other day, just for the heck of it, I typed my blog name into a search window just to see what would come up (yeah, too much time on the computer). I was flattered to see my blog honorably mentioned at The Door Garden.

This year I discovered Free Cycle too. I gave away some pepper plants a while ago through Free Cycle, and through a recent post I made contact with the person I gave the peppers to. He’s a community gardener, and he used the pepper plants for a container gardening exhibition. He told me they named the pepper plants after me and that they’re still growing under hoop covers. I mentioned that I was looking into the Master Gardener program (sparked by EG who’s signed up already), and he told me that he might be able to get me a scholarship for the program through his association with the program.

How about that. I hadn’t given anything away through Free Cycle for a while, but because I recently picked up a few things I felt karma dictated that I give away something to balance things out. Not only did things balance out, the scales tipped in my favor.

There were a few events that weighed on me this year.� My youngest hit a few bumps in the road of life. I miss the relationship we used to have, but hopefully he’s on the right track now.

My dad’s passing came as a big surprise to me. I just didn’t see that coming.

A good friend had surgery. I wish him a full and speedy recovery. (Ditto)

May all your seeds germinate and all your plants grow strong.

Spring and summer will be here before too very long .

It’s time to plan our rows, look at the garden shows,

come up with plans of attack for our little garden foes.

In just a few more months winter will be done

Then we can get back out there and start having fun.

Happy New Year, Everybody!!!

6 Comments

  1. January 1, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Happy New Year to you, Cheryl! I cannot express how much I have enjoyed your blog this past year. Isn’t this fun? I feel like I have a whole bunch of very best friends, even though I’ve never met any of them!

    Let’s make 2009 the “Year of the Garden”!

    Granny

  2. gardengoodies said,

    January 1, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Yes, it’s too much fun. Glad you’ve enjoyed my ramblings, and I’ve enjoyed yours and everybody else’s too.

    “Year of the Garden”! Sounds good to me.

  3. Kristen said,

    January 5, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Wow, you’ve had a year full of learning!

    I’m so glad you’ve enjoyed my blog. 🙂

  4. gardengoodies said,

    January 5, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    I really have enjoyed your blog…along with a ton of other people. You keep writing, and I’ll keep reading and being inspired.

  5. melissa said,

    January 7, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Well hello Cheryl,
    I am very glad to hear that gardening has made your last year bloom like a flower 🙂 I believe we are all looking forward to this new year as well as summer when we can let our green thumbs really show. I look forward to seeing all your beautiful plants.

  6. gardengoodies said,

    January 8, 2009 at 1:49 am

    Hello, Miss Melissa:
    Yep. I’m looking forward to the warm weather and the sunshine. Snow and cold are not my friends.


Leave a Reply

