Siamese Elephant Has Seven Offspring

Just kidding.  I’m storing the bulbs from this year’s elephant ear plant.  I dug the plant up a month or so ago and let it sit in the garage until the leaves dried.

 12-07-08

You see the one in the middle?  That’s the Siamese mama bulb…it’s the main bulb I planted, and the other six are the babies.  The first year I planted one bulb and at the end of the season I had the same Siamese-type mother bulb and about eight side bulbs.  Those funny looking knots on the lower part of the mama bulb will grow into side shoots next year when I plant the mama bulb.  I’ve never tried cutting the bottom part off, I just plant the whole thing. The pink growth at the top of the bulb is part of the leaf stalk.  It will eventually dry up and I’ll peel it off.  They’ll get stored in a container with peat in the basement (the bulbs will die if they freeze) and replanted next spring.

Here are a few factoids about Elephant Ears a/k/a Taro

  • Easy to grow
  • Heavy feeders
  • Needs lots of water
  • Can be grown in containers
  • Parts of the plant are edible
  • Can be used as a bog plant
  • Is a perennial in non-frost zones
  • Does not transplant well once it’s actively growing
  • Multiplies freely – can be invasive in non-frost zones
  • Can be started indoors in pots and moved outdoors once frost threat has passed.

Happy Gardening!!!!

10 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    December 8, 2008 at 11:17 am

    My Momma has some elephant ears in front of the house, and they just pop up every year. I don’t like them much, because I always end up getting too close to them with the weedeater…oops! Anyway, that’s an intersting picture you have there.

    EG

  2. gardengoodies said,

    December 8, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    The answer to this is probably no, but does your mom ever dig any of the bulbs up and have the double bulb thing going on?

  3. spcastles said,

    December 8, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Hey, I noticed your note on EG’s website (this is Carolynp), I have some jingle bell pepper seeds that I bought at valueseeds. I was going to link them, but I can’t find them now. If you can’t find em, send me an email with your add or have eg do it and I’ll mail you half of these.

  4. gardengoodies said,

    December 8, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    Bless you. I’ll e-mail you later tonight or tomorrow.

  5. December 8, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Cheryl – my Momma isn’t physically able to do anything outside. I just water them for her.

    EG

  6. gardengoodies said,

    December 8, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    EG-sorry, I didn’t remember the details of their situation.

  7. engineeredgarden said,

    December 9, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    That’s ok, Cheryl…you didn’t know. BTW, did you get the seeds yet? They should be there today or tomorrow.

    EG

  8. gardengoodies said,

    December 9, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    EG-I thought I had missed something in your post about your folks the other day and was too lazy to re-read it.

    I’ll be checking the mail tomorrow to see if they’re there.

    CAROLYN-I was doing an internet search on the jingle bell peppers and ran across some seeds. And since I have a certificate at Amazon, I’m just going to order some.

    Thank you so much for the offer.

  9. December 11, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Just thought that I would mention that at least some varieties of this plant overwinter just fine here in zone 6 – even though the ground does freeze a few inches deep. If I’m on the ball I insulate them with a layer of leaves, but even when I haven’t they come right back every spring.

  10. gardengoodies said,

    December 11, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Hi, David:

    My mother-in-law will love to hear this. She likes the way they look, but not necessarily the extra work with the digging and the storing. Maybe we’ll experiment next year…with hers, not mine.

    p.s. I “took a stroll” over to your site. How’d your greenhouse work out? Do you have anything growing in it now?


Leave a Reply

