Black Friday Bummer

I wrote this yesterday and didn’t post it.  Totally not related to gardening.  But what the heck.  If you find it boring, just quietly click the back button.

 

Saturday, 11-29-08

I didn’t shop on Black Friday (yeah for me).  But this morning I ran across a Staples Friday and Saturday ad.  They had a $99 shredder for $19 (after rebate, of course, and instant discount).  I actually need a good shredder, so I could justify spending the money.  There were a few more items on the page that I thought the price would justify the expense, so I grabbed them and went to the register.  And low and behold, the register rings up the regular price. 

The cashier showed me on the sale paper that the deal is only good Friday from 6-10.  Well, that’s not what the Staples site said. It said INCREDIBLE DEALS – 2 DAYS ONLY.  And when I clicked on the shredder it says “Offer Valid Nov 28-29.”

I hated walking away from the items in the basket, but the cashier was getting on my nerves.  Imagine expecting a cashier having to answer your questions when you don’t blindly say, “Okay.  Well, if your computer says it cost X and my research on your site says Y, I’ll just hand you the extra money.”

So, before I got nasty with the cashier, I left the store.  I went and looked it up on the computer again, and there it is in black and white (and a little red and blue and yellow and gray), Offer Valid Nov 28-Nov 29. 

image

I called the store and asked to speak to the manager (who was really nice, by the way) and I explained to him (again) that I was looking at the ad and would he be willing to honor the price that his company’s web site is showing.  To make a long story (a little) short(er), when I showed him the ad, he honored the price.  Thank you, Mr. Store Manager, at  my local Staples store.

So, he rings up my shredder at the adjusted price…and guess what?  No rebate prints out.  But good store manager that he is who’s trying to accommodate a frequent flyer customer, he goes to the back and prints out the rebate.

And guess what?  The rebate is good for one day…yesterday.  So, all that time and energy for nothing.  Well, maybe not for nothing.  I learned a good store manager trumps a bad store cashier.  They still have me as a customer…but not on Black Friday…unless it’s something really good next year.

Happy Gardening Shopping

6 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    December 1, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Hey Cheryl – first, i’d like to say that black friday is a big ripoff! Poor people wait in line for hours outside, in the freezing weather, and little do they know that the store only has 1 or 2 of each item in stock. Anything to get somebody in the door…..

    On a side note, I just read your comment on sinfonian’s blog about looking for your pea seeds for planting later. Let me know if you need some, and i’ll send you however many you need. I’ve got plenty… (Sugar snap snow peas)

    EG

  2. gardengoodies said,

    December 1, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    And I know this about the sales, but I feel compelled to try. The bad part about this one is that they had to have had the items on the sale date because they had them the next day. One day I’ll learn.

    I haven’t been able to find any info on whether the peas need the insects for pollination, so I think I’ll wait until the spring. I did find out, though, that you can plant them in the fall and they’ll come up in the spring. We just had a big snow today, so it’s too late for us. So, if you would save me a few, I’ll remind you again in March.

    Thank you. That’s a very nice offer.

  3. engineeredgarden said,

    December 2, 2008 at 8:09 am

    Ok, Cheryl….BTW, they don’t require pollination from insects…..

    EG

  4. December 2, 2008 at 11:19 am

    I HATE rebates! I have never been successful at receiving a major one without a hassle. I have always won, I keep very good records and scans of the transactions, but it’s annoying that it never goes easy. I didn’t win the last one though, a $50 rebate on a recliner from Miller Light and Ashley Furniture. They insist it was sent last June, but I never got the check and it wasn’t reissued after two calls, so I just gave up. And the Miller Light is still out in the garage, waiting for someone to drink it.

    I did get a good buy from Amazon yesterday…a $39.99 book for $26.37 and free shipping. It has detailed maps and info about back country travel in AZ. Maybe we (and EG’s “Little Box” ) can get to some different places this year!

  5. gardengoodies said,

    December 2, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    EG-I know exactly where I can put them, so I’d love to take you up on your offer. I’ll e-mail you the address in a little while. Thanks again.

    Annie-I’m with you on the rebates. My problem is I forget to fill them out.

    You got over 25 percent off with the book…that’s pretty good. And the prospect of more guided tour posts…that’s even better.

  6. Melissa said,

    December 4, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Oh cheryl you know I am your number one fan but my dear it is ” but BEING the good store manager that he is…..” You sentence as you wrote it does not make sense. Now that I have gotten that off my chest, I hate it when the ad says one thing and the computer says another. Even worse when in small/tiny print it says from 6-10, My eyes cannot see a size 8 font anymore and the store know’s that millions of people are looking through millions of ad’s and do not have time to magnify everything they read. One cannot get to mad though that is why they call it black friday because it is a very dark and sad day after all the meyham is over.


Leave a Reply

