Bargain Alert…How’d I do?

I placed an order with Gurney’s Seed & Nursery Company.  I got:

  • 50 ever bearing strawberry plants (buy one order of 25, get one order of 25 free)
  • Blueberry plants (buy one, get one free)
  • Another blueberry for pollination
  • Blackberry plants (3 per order)
  • Gooseberry plant

All for the grand total of … drum roll, please … $30 and some change … and that includes shipping and handling.

When you go to their web site, at the top of the front page you should see a blurp saying if you place an order of $50 or more, you get a $25 discount.  As soon as your order hits $50 in the shopping cart, the $25 discount shows.  However, when I filled in my shipping info, the discount disappeared.  I had to call the company and they manually applied the discount.  I also ordered the catalogue through the web site, but the ’09 catalogues aren’t out yet and they mailed out a $25 coupon as a consolation prize so to speak.  Now I have something else to look forward to in the spring.

On the gardening front, on Sunday we had a relative heat wave (temps in the 40s) and I finally got a chance to deal with my bags of collected leaves.  I mulched the garlic and strawberry plants and threw some on the perennials.  I constructed a makeshift frame in the bed with the lowest soil level and dumped all but one bag of leaves into it.  The “frame” consists of some wire border fencing about 24 inches tall lined with black plastic.  The pile is about 4 feet wide, 4 feet long, and maybe 18 inches deep.  I wet the ground before I put them in and I layered with the finished compost that was just sitting in the garden cart and the partially finished load sitting in the tumbling composter.  I wet the leaves as I was adding them.  It’s definitely not a hot compost pile, but hopefully the little wiggly worms will find the pile and help it break down by the spring.  It’s not the prettiest thing in the world, but it’s functional.

The one big bag of leaves I didn’t dump in the yard will serve as the brown for the house scraps over the winter.  The bag must be five feet tall with nicely shredded leaves that I rescued from the trash.  You know what they say…one man’s trash is another man’s treasure.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME and HAPPY TURKEY DAY TO YOU

Happy Gardening!!!

6 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    November 26, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Well…I was wondering when you’d be back. I check your blog everyday, and didn’t know what you were up to. That sounds like a really good deal on those plants, because I think my two blueberry bushes cost $25 total about 3 years ago, and that’s by themselves. I understand about the heatwave…It’s gonna be in the mid 60’s here tomorrow – what’s up with that? I’m sure that the worms will find their way into your pile. Anyway, Happy Birthday to you, and Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

    EG

  2. gardengoodies said,

    November 26, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    EG – I’m still alive and well…as well as I can be without warm sunshine on my face and darkness at 5:00. It’s a real mood lifter to be able to click over to blogs like yours and at least see pictures of a garden still in progress and just to hear what’s going on with my fellow bloggers.

    When I find a bargain I like to share, so I hope somebody else benefits from it. Just of curiosity, how big were your blueberry bushes when you first got them?

  3. November 26, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Cheryl – my plants were pretty small, probably about 2 ft tall – including rootball. They don’t get enough sun where I planted them, and haven’t grown much because of this. I should have enough berries to snack on next year, though. I always make several visits each day to my gardening friends’ blogs, but sadly – most haven’t posted in over a week. I know it’s difficult to blog when not actively gardening. I’m very fortunate that i’ll be able to blog about something every day. Hey, there’s always the house next door that someone from up north can buy….hint! lol

    EG

  4. gardengoodies said,

    November 26, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    EG – lol.
    Ya just don’t know. I feel like a farmer’s wife trapped in the life of a city dweller. I think the Big Guy upstairs likes to play tricks on us every once in a while.

    Thanks for the info on the blueberries. I bought one a couple of years ago and it was basically a twig that never grew well and finally died this year. Hopefully these will do better.

    Enjoy dinner with the folks tomorrow. Sounds like it will be fun.

  5. November 27, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Happy birthday, Cheryl! I’m happy I got back on line long enough to wish you a great day (WIFI problems here).

    What great bargains. I hope, as it gets closer to spring, I can do as well. It’s difficult not being at “home” with my garden until April, as I always miss out on the good deals. I can’t have them sent here, as there’s never enough room to transport anything back home.

  6. gardengoodies said,

    November 28, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Thanks for the B-day wish and sorry to hear about the internet problems.

    Just so you know, I tried to leave a couple comments at your blog. I’m wondering if they’re getting through. Technology…you either love it or hate it.


Leave a Reply

