Who are you? Who would you like to be?

Are you a (doctor, lawyer, Indian chief) who likes to (insert hobby of your choice) for fun?

Or are you a (hobby of your choice) who has to work for a living?

We all have to work for a living … a majority of us anyway. Wouldn’t it be nice to make a living by doing that which you love the most?

On one of my job assignments the question was thrown out there: If you didn’t have to work for a living but you had to do something, what would you do?

What would I do? I’d move to an area where there was a little shoulder room between neighbors. I like my neighbors and get along fine with them, but sometimes I’d like to kick back and relax without a bunch of eyes on me. I’m sure they feel the same.

It goes without saying that I’d have a huge vegetable garden (organic, of course) with creative compost contraptions strategically placed throughout.

I’d run a gardening clinic for the kiddies right in my back yard, and they’d have their own little square foot garden “plots.” Or I’d volunteer at a school-run gardening program.

I’m writing this post between assignments after discovering a wi-fi frequency. So, I’m interested. You don’t have to tell what you do now, but what would you like to do if you didn’t have to work for a living?

And you lucky retired folks who’ve already paid your dues, what are you doing now that you couldn’t when you had to bring home the bacon?

p.s. I won’t comment on your comment. This is being offered as a place to takewhat’s in your heart and put it into the stratosphere.

“What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve.” (Napolean Hill)

4 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    November 17, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    Cheryl – I would double the size of my garden, and try to grow enough produce to eat off of for the entire year. I would also go fishing as often as possible, and keep all of the fish for eating later. Any time left over would be donated to community service, for either teaching people about gardening, or doing a few beautification projects around my town.

    EG

  2. November 17, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Retired, but doing pretty much what I’ve always done. Cook, clean house, grow a garden, spoil the kids (only now it’s grandkids and puppies). I have two homes now, where I used to have only one, and I have more time to be social (play cards with friends nearly every night, frequent cookouts and potlucks). If I had it all to do over again, I would be a dietitian and/or a small plot vegetable farmer. We always lived a rather simple life, and I continue to do so….because I want to, not because I have to.

  3. Melissa said,

    November 17, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    You know that is such a wonderful question that many of us keep out of our mind because we do not have the time to even ponder the thought. I think it is lovely that you would like to integrate gardening with the youth. Now a days the only thing youths tend to grow/make are babies. I think it would be such a positive outlet for them to have something else to “grow”. I hope you one day get to achieve your goal 🙂

  4. Ribbit said,

    November 20, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    I’d be a mom. Just a mom with a garden.

    Ok, a mom with a garden that can go to the bathroom by herself with no one on her lap or handing her toilet tissue etc.


Leave a Reply

