Mr. Murphy, Misfortune Maker

Yesterday morning I left the house really early trying to catch a Wal-Mart pre-Christmas special.  What I was interested in was a laptop for $298 that regularly sold for about $700.  The web site said the store opened at 8:00, so I got there about 7:30 and saw all these cars in the parking lot but no people in line.  I hurried up and parked and went in the store and didn’t see too many customers until I got to the electronics department.  There was a line with at least 50 people in it. 

I was talking to the sales lady, and that’s when I found out that the store opened at 7:00, not 8:00.  She told me that when the doors opened everybody started running and pushing to get in.  And right about then a couple of cops came in.  That cinched it for me.  Chalk another one up for Mr. Murphy of Murphy’s Law.  If I had the right time the store opened, maybe I would have been there in time to get the computer.

When I walked out of the store, there were five squad cars lined up outside the door. Then I thought maybe it was a good thing I wasn’t in line early.  Maybe Mr. Murphy’s antithesis, Mr. Yhprum of Mr. Yhprum’s Law, was trying to protect me from mortal injury by crazed bargain seekers who would have trampled my body to the ground in their quest to grab those bargains.  At any rate, I live to shop another day.

Happy Gardening Shopping!!!

Oh, yeah.  This is a gardening blog.  When the wind chill is in the 20s, not much is going on in the gardening arena, but here’s what I have.

The lettuce is growing fine under the lights.

11-09-08

(Dixie cup for perspective)

11-09-08 (3)

The garlic is growing great, but I don’t know if that’s good or bad.

I’ve snagged other folks’ neatly bagged leaves to mulch my plants.

Happy Gardening!!!

I just peeked at EG’s blog and remembered one other thing I did yesterday.  I picked the last crop of turnip greens (seven tops).  I got the easy job of picking.  My mother who was over got the harder job of cleaning and cooking.  Dinner was good tonight.

8 Comments

  1. November 9, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Cheryl – I don’t get all caught up in the whole shopping special thing. Not even on black friday….I stay at home, instead. My dad helped me cook our greens…they were good! I bet your Mom can cook up a storm in the kitchen!

    EG

  2. gardengoodies said,

    November 9, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    I swore last year that I wouldn’t get all caught up with the sales, but I’m a sucker for a bargain. But I guess it’s not a bargain when you waste time and gas.

    Okay. I promise I won’t get caught up with the sales again … unless it’s a really good one.

  3. November 9, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    I’m so darned far from a store (October to April) I can’t even dream about the bargains I know I am missing! When it’s 150 miles round trip, shopping trips are few and far between. They just broke ground for a Super Wal*Mart 25 miles from us, but it won’t open until next year. It will be total heaven for us to have one that close in 2009! I really kinda miss Christmas bargain shopping. It’s just easier to send the kids a check or a gift card now.

  4. gardengoodies said,

    November 10, 2008 at 6:40 am

    The good thing about being far from a store is that you don’t waste money on those impulse buys.

    The check and gift card is a really good idea. When I buy stuff for my kids they usually end up taking it back anyway, so the check would be easier.

    What do you guys do for groceries with stores being so far away?

  5. November 10, 2008 at 10:47 am

    We go into Parker (50 miles r.t.) once a week and shop at Safeway. If I need household items, paint or hardware we go to Blythe, CA (100 miles r.t.) because they have a K-Mart and a good Ace Hardware, with Albertsons for groceries. About once every two months we go into (or near) Phoenix (240 miles r.t.) and hit Costco and any other big stores where we can buy anything we want. I try to keep at least a month’s worth of meat and veggies in the freezer. When we have a “project” going, we just spend a lot of time driving back and forth for stuff we forgot to buy on the previous trips! Projects usually mean driving to Lake Havasu City (140 miles r.t) so we can shop at Lowes or Home Depot. Here in our little town we have a produce stand that is open Thursday-Saturday, and they sell hydroponic veggies. They are really good, but $$$. The tomatoes are worth the money.

  6. gardengoodies said,

    November 10, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Wow. I complained when they closed the grocery store on the corner because now I have to drive five whole minutes to get to the grocery store.

  7. bettyinga said,

    November 10, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    I might not survive in the desert. We have a store on every corner! We are so spoiled! It’s our tradition to get up very early the day after Thanksgiving for the early bargains. That’s one way to stretch our gift giving budget which is getting smaller every year.

  8. gardengoodies said,

    November 10, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Last year we went out the day after Thanksgiving and got to the store an hour before it opened. I expected some people, but the line was already a block long. Of course by the time we got to the second store it was the same thing.

    You need to team shop and practically spend the night at the store to get the really good buys.


Leave a Reply

