Mr. Murphy, Misfortune Maker

Yesterday morning I left the house really early trying to catch a Wal-Mart pre-Christmas special.  What I was interested in was a laptop for $298 that regularly sold for about $700.  The web site said the store opened at 8:00, so I got there about 7:30 and saw all these cars in the parking lot but no people in line.  I hurried up and parked and went in the store and didn’t see too many customers until I got to the electronics department.  There was a line with at least 50 people in it. 

I was talking to the sales lady, and that’s when I found out that the store opened at 7:00, not 8:00.  She told me that when the doors opened everybody started running and pushing to get in.  And right about then a couple of cops came in.  That cinched it for me.  Chalk another one up for Mr. Murphy of Murphy’s Law.  If I had the right time the store opened, maybe I would have been there in time to get the computer.

When I walked out of the store, there were five squad cars lined up outside the door. Then I thought maybe it was a good thing I wasn’t in line early.  Maybe Mr. Murphy’s antithesis, Mr. Yhprum of Mr. Yhprum’s Law, was trying to protect me from mortal injury by crazed bargain seekers who would have trampled my body to the ground in their quest to grab those bargains.  At any rate, I live to shop another day.

Happy Gardening Shopping!!!

Oh, yeah.  This is a gardening blog.  When the wind chill is in the 20s, not much is going on in the gardening arena, but here’s what I have.

The lettuce is growing fine under the lights.

11-09-08

(Dixie cup for perspective)

11-09-08 (3)

The garlic is growing great, but I don’t know if that’s good or bad.

I’ve snagged other folks’ neatly bagged leaves to mulch my plants.

Happy Gardening!!!

I just peeked at EG’s blog and remembered one other thing I did yesterday.  I picked the last crop of turnip greens (seven tops).  I got the easy job of picking.  My mother who was over got the harder job of cleaning and cooking.  Dinner was good tonight.