Winter Wrap-up

Crazy, crazy weather we’re having here.  Not only did we have a frost, but we had snow flurries about a week ago.  And now we’re having record breaking warm weather in the 70s.  It’s weird looking at plants killed by frost and walking around in 70 degree weather.

Yesterday was the first time I got to do something constructive in the yard in a while.  Oh, did it feel good.  I had my MP3 player on with my favorite music, I was enjoying my favorite hobby.  All was right with the world.

I changed my mind and took the trellis down because that’s the only bed that the soil doesn’t come all the way to the top and isn’t planted with something…except the turnip greens that have been growing all summer and I’m going to pull out.  I’ll put all my leaves into this bed to decompose over the winter.

Last year I used to watch for the lawn people to make sure they didn’t blow the leaves into my yard, now I’m trying to catch them to tell them to feel free to blow them in my yard.  I’ll take as many as I can get because by the time I used the leaf vacuum on the few leaves I had in the yard, there were just enough to cover a couple square foot sections.  I’ve appropriated…not stolen, appropriated…two big bags of leaves from my neighbor across the alley. I used some of them along with kitchen scraps to get a load going in the compost tumbler.  It’s heating up fairly well.  It will be interesting to see if it works in the winter when the outside temps are cold.

I transplanted my little peach tree into one of the empty SWCs.  I still don’t know exactly how I’m going to prune it, but I get more time since you prune them in February before they start to leaf out.  I want to keep it in a container.  Hopefully it wants to be in a container and will grow for me.

Minus two, all the cloves of garlic I planted are up and growing.  I hope that’s a good thing.  I read that they need to grow like tulips (which I still haven’t planted).  They need to establish a root system, sleep once the ground freezes, and then wake up and continue growing in the spring.  Cross your fingers that’s good info for my climate.

Egyptian Walking Onions And lastly, I got some of these Egyptian Walking Onions from my aunt.  The baby onion bulbs that grow at the top drop to the ground and grow a new plant and “walk” all over your garden.  When we were little she kept them in a big clump near the porch stairs.  Now they’re all over the yard. 

Happy Gardening!!!

 

Leave a Reply

