The Cabbage that was Cooked Continuously

http://www.postiv.com/GreenCabbage.htmlThis post is about a cabbage. Just your regular run of the mill cabbage. Not too big, not too small. Truly your average cabbage.

I haven’t eaten meat-meat since I saw that video on animal cruelty. I’ll spare you the hyperlink. If you’re interested, you can search the Chicken Poo post.

Lately since I’ve been avoiding cooking or buying meat we’ve been eating a lot of vegetables and beans and rice with the occasional fish and chicken thrown in. A strict vegetarian would consider fish and chicken to be meat, but old habits die hard. And fish is supposed to be good for you with the Omega-3 fatty acid…unless, of course, it’s tainted with lead and chemical runoff. Sometimes you can’t win for losing.

A few days ago I bought some wonton wrappers to make egg rolls, and they came out pretty good (I even snuck some tofu in and nobody noticed). But since everybody in the house didn’t eat egg rolls, I made smothered cabbage with cornbread.

Yesterday I was in a cooking mood, so I mixed up some more filling for egg rolls and made the egg rolls. And then since I was making egg rolls, I figured I may as well make something to go with them, so I made fried rice. And then I figured since I was chopping cabbage and carrots for the egg rolls I’d make a little cole slaw. And when I finished filling the wanton wrappers I had two left, so I figured I’d try apple turnovers…which came out great by the way. It kind of reminded me of the children’s book If You Give A Mouse A Cookie.

So, out of one cabbage, a package of wonton wrappers, one carrot, an onion, a piece of ginger, some left-over rice, some left-over peas, 1 1/2 apples, seasonings and condiments I cooked:

  • 16 Egg Rolls
  • The equivalent of a large order of vegetable fried rice
  • Smother cabbage for three
  • 2 apple turnovers
  • about a cup of coleslaw

If I had to estimate how much the ingredients cost I would say $5.00, less than the cost of an order or fried rice.

You can find any basic recipe for egg rolls to make the filling and grab a $2.00 packet of wonton wrappers and save a ton of money when you compare ordering from a restaurant. The secret to success is the ginger. Fresh ginger.

Foliage of ginger plants.

The root of the ginger plant is what’s used in cooking. You can get a large piece from the grocery store and grow it at home and harvest your own home-grown ginger. If you’ve ever grown canna plants, the root systems are similar. Here’s a picture of the foilage of a ginger plant that came from a site with very good information on how to grow ginger.

Happy Gardening!!!

8 Comments

  1. November 2, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    I wanna live at your house 😉

  2. engineeredgarden said,

    November 2, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    That was a very good way to get the most out of one head of cabbage. Makes me wonder what i’m going to do with my 20 in the garden, once they come in……maybe sauerkraut?

  3. gardengoodies said,

    November 2, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Sure…as long as it can be an even swap. You can deal with the cold and snow and subzero weather, and I’ll bask in the sunshine.

  4. gardengoodies said,

    November 2, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    I saw those cabbages. Something else for me to be jealous of. Only one of mine got bigger than a softball. It’s the grocery store for me until I try again next spring.

  5. engineeredgarden said,

    November 3, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    All of mine may only get as big as a softball…who knows? They are just starting to from a head. Wish me luck!

    EG

  6. gardengoodies said,

    November 3, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Based on how your cabbages look now, I’m sure they’ll be huge.

  7. sinfonian2 said,

    November 4, 2008 at 1:23 am

    I’m not a cabage guy, but my wife is. I better not let her see this post or I’ll be growing cabbage next year.

    Way to go!

  8. gardengoodies said,

    November 4, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Go ahead and grow some just for her. You can grow them with your other cool weather veggies and get them out of the way and earn some good hubbie points.


Leave a Reply

