Halloween can be a Hoot

Halloween around here was a success.  We had ten times as many trick-or-treaters as last year.  At the last minute (that’s the way I live) I decided to put up some kind of decorations to make the place look a little more inviting to the kiddies.  I dug out my lights (brand new, never used) that I’ve had for about six years and put them out.  They’re the really nice net lights that you cover your hedges with.  I found them at a 90 percent off sale at Toys-R-Us and they only cost $.99 per box.  That was another good bargain day.  I got a lot of the foam pumpkins with the lights in them, three of the talking skulls that you put outside and it has a microphone in it that you speak into and it makes that skull look like it’s talking, some of the skull candles that  melt red wax that looks like blood, just a ton of stuff.  I spent less than $20.00.

The Bloody Bride was one of my favorites.  We went to the Park District’s haunted woods that evening, and when we walked through the tented area, everybody stopped and stared.  Everybody was telling my daughter to enter that contest, but she wouldn’t.  She was a little shy. 

The picture shows an ax in her stomach.  We did that by cutting a slit in the dress and sewing on our homemade ax.  The blade was cardboard covered with aluminum foil and the handle was the roll that the foil was on covered in black plastic).  Then we slit her throat by drawing a dark line and letting a line of “blood” drip down.

We found the bride dress in a thrift store for $5.  The “blood” was Kayro syrup and red food coloring.  Believe it or not, when we washed the dress, all the “blood” came out.  If I had known the blood would come out I would have found another way to attach the ax because it was a nice dress.  I even saved some of the appliquess and Free Cycled them this summer.

pieces from wedding dress

Back then the students could wear costumes to school for Halloween.  That day, instead of being The Bride With The Ax In Her Stomach, she was The Bride With Her Guts Hanging Out.  I bought Italian sausage links from the store and sewed them to the front of the dress.  (Yeah, some would say mom is a little warped). That’s the year she won the school costume contest.

About this year’s success and the ten times as many trick-or-treaters, we only had one brave soul who came up to our dark and uninviting house last year.  So, comparatively, this year was really a success.

Happy Halloween . . . again!!! 

2 Comments

  1. November 1, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Yikes! We didn’t get a single trick-or-treater here last night! We usually get a lot, considering the population of this place is just over 600! Like Mr. H and I really need to eat up all that candy I bought…NOT!

  2. gardengoodies said,

    November 1, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Well, I wish I had two more kiddies that knocked on the door. Diet versus Candy. The candy won.


Leave a Reply

