Eagerly awaited Elephant Ear picture

I saw a Free Cycle post giving away elephant ear leaves.� It caught my attention because I’m thinking why would somebody want elephant ear leaves?� So I sent a reply saying I was curious why somebody would be giving away the leaves.� If they were trying to preserve the plant they had to dig it up and save the bulb for next year.

I got a reply to my reply saying that he thought the leaves were beautiful and that somebody could maybe use them for decoration.� He also said his neighbor told him that Central Americans ate the leaves and that the bulbs were already stored.

I sent a reply to his reply to my reply saying that I had heard that people used the leaves as molds for hypertufa projects such as elephant ear shaped fountains.� Hypertufa is a faux stone concrete made from a mix of portland cement, vermiculite, perlite, peat moss, sand and water.� There are many recipes for the proportions of the mix to produce different end results.� Hypertufa troughs to be used as planters is one of the easier projects to try.� Here’s one from the Garden Web forum.

PHOTO REMOVED PER

PHOTOGRAPHER’S REQUEST

He sent a reply to my reply to his reply . . . and so on and so on and so on.� Guess what?� This was the person who was the recipient of the biggest of the elephant ear bulbs I gave away through Free Cycle.� When I gave the bulb to him I asked that he send me a picture in September so I could see how his did.

Here is a before showing the large bulb he got …

Sprouted Elephant Ear Bulbs

… and here is after.

Elephant Ear Pic From Paul

He said mine is the biggest one in the back.

I did a quick internet search and elephant ear a/k/a taro is edible.� There are recipes that use both the leaves and the root.� Now that I think about it, I remember reading that you can go to the grocery store and buy the taro root and grow it.

Thanks, Paul, for the pictures.� It’s nice to know that my baby’s baby went to a good home.

Happy Gardening!!!�

8 Comments

  1. paul said,

    November 11, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    thank you, cheryl, for what turned out to be the most beautiful elephant ear not only in my yard but on my whole block.
    yours replaced one that i lost this spring. i waited too long to take it out of storage and bring it into the yard. i will be checking your blog in the spring to see when you (and others) think its the right time to plant these wonderful creatures.
    sorry i didnt post earlier. i got caught up in the election. first worrying about a last minute surprise and then elated at the outcome.
    i love your blog. i appreciate you sharing your experience and knowledge.
    paul

  2. gardengoodies said,

    November 12, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Thanks, Paul, for such a nice comment. Don’t worry about not posting earlier. I was feeling so down in the dumps today, and this made me feel 110 percent better.

    Cheryl

  3. Mike said,

    July 1, 2009 at 6:58 am

    Cheryl
    Nice photo of a hypertufa container. It looks just like my container, at my pond at my house. In fact I took that picture.

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 1, 2009 at 9:22 am

      Hi, Mike:

      You really did a great job on your container. I tried to do one last year, but when I took it out of the plastic bag it started breaking apart. I keep threatening to do it again, but it does take a bit of time and talent to do it right. It’s on my to-do list for when I have some extra time.

  4. Cheryl said,

    July 2, 2009 at 11:05 am

    next time it would be good if you asked permission to use my picture
    ML

    • gardengoodies said,

      July 3, 2009 at 3:22 am

      I’m guessing that should be “Mike said” instead of “Cheryl said.”

      Anyway, my thought was that providing a link within the sentence “Here’s one from the Garden Web forum” referring to your picture would be sufficient to show that the picture was not taken by me, nor did I say I took the picture. I personally try to make a point of giving credit to photos that I copy off the web with the exception of photos listed in image sharing sites. And if there is a “please don’t copy my photos” or something to that effect I respect that. It’s also been my experience that people appreciate a link to their web postings.

      With all that being said, if you prefer, I can remove the picture and just keep the link to Garden Web. Just let me know.

  5. Mike said,

    December 13, 2009 at 12:07 am

    I beleive it would be fair to remove my picuture from your blog. Garden Web did not make the container, nor did the take the photo. The photos on Garden Web are not there for you to take –
    Please remove-

    • gardengoodies said,

      December 23, 2009 at 11:04 pm

      Removed per your request.


Leave a Reply

