The Gardener’s Advantage

We gardeners have an advantage over the common run of the mill produce shopper.

A little while back when I dug up my sweet potatoes I was in Pete’s Produce looking at theirs and I was thinking to myself, “Heck, mine look as good as these do.” (Some of them anyway).

When I was looking at the seed catalogue and they were selling their garlic for as much as $5.00 plus shipping and handling for ONE whole garlic, I know that I can go to the grocery store and buy a clove for less than a quarter.

Cucumbers, if you’re lucky enough to catch a sale, might cost you $.50 each. We know that a $.10 pack of seeds will give you enough cucumbers to eat fresh salads every day and make pickles to crunch on for the whole winter.

Well, today I stopped at the grocery store and while I was in there decided I would try to cook something with tofu. That video on animal cruelty kind of got to me, so I’m willing to try something new.

Anyway, I noticed they had pre-packaged herbs they were selling.  Looking at that made me so glad I braved the cold and saved my plants. Each package was selling for $2.69.

They had six five-inch pieces of Rosemary for $2.69. That puts the value of my plant at about $30.00 or $40.00.

Then they had sage. There were maybe (and I’m being generous) 20 leaves in the package. That puts the value of the two plants I brought in at about $20.00, and they didn’t grow that well.

They had chives. My one square of plants would fill at least 20 packages.

I didn’t grow dill (but I will next year). An average size plant, the size my mother-in-law grew, would be enough to fill at least five packages.

Today I went out and transplanted my little lettuce to grow under lights in the house.

10-27-08

10-27-08 (2)

Pretty soon I’ll have fancy baby lettuce leaves for next to nothing.

Happy Gardening!!!

6 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    October 28, 2008 at 11:27 am

    That’s gonna be alot of lettuce, Cheryl. What kind is it? Yeah, Walmart has the 10 cent seed rack in the spring, but man they go fast!

    EG

  2. gardengoodies said,

    October 28, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I don’t expect to get anything as big as yours (your plants look great by the way). I intend to pick the outside leaves off as they get big enough for a salad. The seeds came from Jewels as a salad mix. Looks like there are four different types. I think I even caught them half off at about $1.25 a package. Our Dollar Stores also sell seeds at 10 for $1.00.

  3. October 28, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    I figure the one $1.59 packet of mesclun seeds I bought saved around $50 over the time I cut the greens to feed our pet rabbit. I was paying $5 a container for them at the store! I even dug up several of them and brought them south with me. So far they’re looking fine! I found sunflower and buttercrunch lettuce seeds on sale for 10-cents for next year, and will be looking for more bargains before the 2009 season!

  4. gardengoodies said,

    October 29, 2008 at 12:26 am

    Don’t you just love a bargain? And with the lettuce seeds, you get so many. I never understood why somebody would pay almost $2.00 for a six pack of lettuce starts when they could buy a pack of seeds and have more plants than they knew what to do with in a few weeks.

  5. Melissa said,

    November 16, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Okay I do not think that I am the only one that saw your link for the video. I just want to say, yes I am aware of where meat comes from and the animals that die but YOU HAVE JUST RUINED MY WHOLE CARNIVORE LIFE I READ THIS DOGGONE BLOG RIGHT BEFORE MY ORANGE CHICKEN DINNER HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO EAT NOW?! Thank you for the awareness but stick to the lettuce.

  6. gardengoodies said,

    November 17, 2008 at 12:09 am

    If you feel bad, just think how the poor animals feel. I caved, though. I bought a package of hot dogs today.


Leave a Reply

