Wickedly Windy in the Windy City

We have a low of 36 predicted for tonight and 30 for tomorrow.  Brrrrrrr.  I hate the cold, but I love my plants.  I braved crossing the frozen Tundra to save my babies!!!

Who wouldn’t leave the comfort of their toasty abode and be exposed to blowing winds (winds conveniently blowing your neighbors’ leaves into your yard for your compost pile) if they knew they could insure the safety of a plant like this for next year?

08-27-08 (16)

These are the cannas I started in McDonalds cups earlier this year.  They didn’t grow as tall as last year, probably because I stunted their growth by keeping them in the cups too long, but the blooms were still good this year.

I dug up and repotted the rosemary plant too.  I didn’t check to see whether it was a perennial or not, but I like the way it smells and use it in cooking, so I decided to keep it inside.  It’s in the third pot from the right.  After I planted it in the ground it shot up pretty fast.

06-17-08 (23) 10-26-08 (2)

The wind was blowing really hard.  Just as I snapped the picture a big gust came up, that’s why the plant is blurry.  No more juice in the batteries, so no chance to retake. 

Here are the cantaloupes I found growing on the fence earlier.  They didn’t get a chance to mature.  Now they’re compost cantaloupes.

10-26-08

To all you folks continuing your fall gardens, my hat goes off to you. 

Happy  Gardening!!!! 

2 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    October 26, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    I had a few cantaloupes that matured when they were that same size, and although they weren’t very big…they tasted just as good as a big one! I understand about the wind….I need to wrap my garden this evening, but the wind gusts are supposed to be 20 to 30 mph tonight and tomorrow. I guess i’ll have to wrap it tomorrow evening, just before dark. Wish me luck!

    EG

  2. gardengoodies said,

    October 27, 2008 at 12:21 am

    Now that you mention it, one of them looks like it could be ripe. If the squirrels haven’t taken them away, I’ll check tomorrow.

    I sure hope all that wind you’re expecting doesn’t do any damage. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

