Powerful Poultry Poo

Chickens

I’ve been busy the past few days. My ex gave me some furniture pieces in exchange for help with packing and I’ve been rearranging things around here to fit stuff in. We have quite a history, and I’ll just leave it at things worked out surprisingly well.

Anyway, he got a couple of chickens recently. (I’m pretty sure he’s planning on raising them for the eggs only). You know me. Chickens, manure, fertilizer for the garden. I’ll try anything once.

So, today I gave him some of my sawdust I got from the carpentry school for my composting to use as bedding for the chickens and I collected chicken poo for the garden. I started doing research about how to use the manure in the garden and discovered that unlike rabbit poo that you can use straight from the bunny’s butt (sorry, I just couldn’t help myself), you have to compost the chicken poo or let it sit for a while because of the high nitrogen content. If you used it straight it would burn plant roots.

While doing my research, I came across this site that talks about using chicken manure to power 90,000 homes in the Netherlands. They plan to turn 440,000 tons of chicken manure into energy generating more than 270 million kilowatt hours of electricity per year, which is the amount of energy it takes to power those 90,000 homes.

And did you know that a cow’s flatulence, burps and poo produce methane, one of the greenhouse gasses? Some folks in Argentina have come up with a way to capture the methane a cow gives off in order to study the impact on the environment. One California farmer has converted to a methane digester and uses cow poo to produce energy for his farm.

But back to the chickens. Chicken poo to power 90,000 homes. Sounds great, right? You’ll need quite a few chickens pooping for that little endeavor. I ran across this site that talks about how chickens are “intensively” raised for human food production.

WARNING!! The video is pretty graphic. It shows how chickens, cows and pigs are inhumanely raised and slaughtered. Poor animals.

I started out trying to figure out how to recycle chicken manure as a fertilizer and I ended up debating with myself whether I should be a vegan. Let’s just say at the grocery store today, the only meat I bought was fish and I had spaghetti for dinner.

Happy Gardening!!!

P.S. I just fixed a couple of mixed up links and ran across this site on composting that gives info on composting different animal manures.

The photo came from the chooseveg.com site, not the producers of the poo I collected.

1 Comment

  1. April 16, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    […] To justify my obsessive avid pursuit of all things gardening, manure is a useful commodity.  […]


Leave a Reply

