Peanut Pictures as Promised

My friend, Sidney, gave me some corn and peanut seeds early this spring. I couldn’t find any room for the corn.  Trust me, I tried.  I even started some seeds in an egg carton while I was trying to find a place to plant the corn. 

corn in egg carton

I started the peanuts in a Ziplock bag and transplanted them into a pot. 

08-13-08 (8)

In mid summer I decided I wanted to use the pot for something else and dumped the plants onto the ground because they didn’t look like they were growing so well.  But after I dumped them and saw they had pretty good roots I decided to put a couple of the plants back in the pot and I covered the roots of the ones I had dumped out on the ground.

 10-16-08 (2)

So, here’s my peanut harvest from about four plants.

10-16-08 (3)

10-16-08 (6)

Here are a few peanut facts:

  • The seeds can be grown from grocery store raw peanuts.
  • The soil Ph should be about 6.0.
  • The soil should be light and fluffy and contain lots of organic matter.
  • The seeds germinate in 3 to 7 days and start flowering with bright yellow flowers in 30 to 40 days.
  • After the plant flowers, pegs are sent down into the ground where the pods form.
  • The plant blooms over a long period which means the individual pods mature at different times.
  • The soil should not be allowed to dry out after the plant starts flowering.  It results in lower yields.
  • The pods mature in 120 to 140 days after flowering.

Now here’s what I did (or more appropriately didn’t do).  I have never checked my soil Ph.  I dumped the plants under a tree, so no light and fluffy soil there except the few inches of soil that got dumped out with the plant.  My seeds did germinate pretty quickly.  I got only one yellow flower between all the plants.  The plants under the tree routinely dried out.  It’s a miracle that any peanuts grew on these plants at all.  I totally ignored the plants…no compost, no fertilizer of any kind. 

I think this could be a nice plant to grow in an edible lawn situation because of its compact bushy growth habit, and I’m sure if the plants are treated better than I treated mine the harvest would be better.  They also should grow well in a self-watering container because of the benefit of the extra warmth in the root area and the constant moisture.

I think this would be an interesting plant for kids too.  Imagine the look on their faces when they dig and find a buried treasure of peanuts.

Happy Gardening!!!!

2 Comments

  1. MadMann135 said,

    October 20, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    You want to plant peanuts in the yard?
    Might I suggest since bugs like to be inside the nut and feast upon the seed you grow the peanut indoors.

  2. gardengoodies said,

    October 21, 2008 at 4:40 am

    That’s definitely an idea. The only downside would be polination for the flowers. But since I only had one flower and a few peanuts grew anyway, maybe polination isn’t a problem.


Leave a Reply

