Pulling the Plants . . . Wrapping it up for Winter

Since my free moments are less predictable than the weather, I took a few of those minutes yesterday and:

  • Dug the sweet potatoes in the raised bed.

Definitely not a whole lot of potatoes.  This was eight square feet plus two plants in various spots in the yard.  Next year they will go in plastic bins only and I’ll add a fertilizer for root crops.

I would have loved a harvest like Reeldoc at Garden Web who grew a 6 pound 7 ounce sweet potato.  24 slips produced a wheelbarrow full of potatoes. I hope he’s willing to share his secrets.

  • Transplanted some of the lettuce that was planted on 9-21 into middle bed.

I was expecting the lettuce to be larger by now, but I’m going to cheat with a dose of Miracle Grow to give them a jump start.

  • Transplanted the carrots into raised bed.

10-13-08 (4)  10-13-08 (7)

I started these carrots in pots just to see how they’d do.  Some of the carrots are a couple inches long already.  I’ve never transplanted carrots before.  We’ll see how it works.

  • Picked the rest of the tomatoes off the vines and pulled up the vines.

10-13-08 (3) 

The tomato bed was the bed I was going to cover with the plastic row cover, but I like the way the trellis looks and I think I’ll just keep it up.  I’ll cover the back half of the middle bed that I just transplanted the carrots and lettuce into.

  • Pulled the cucumber vines and dismantled the trellis. 

There were only two little cucumbers (in the upper left corner with the tomatoes). 

  • Cut back the parsley plants.  Will air dry this batch.

There are still plenty of chores to get done before it gets really cold outside.  I’m seeing leaves on the ground now.  Mother Nature is telling me to hurry up and get ‘er done.

Happy Gardening!!!!

Leave a Reply

