Secret Sauce for the Scandalous Squirrel

Here is the problem…

Squirrel 

Here is the solution…

08-21-08

Last summer I grew cherry tomatoes and bell peppers.  The squirrels ate more vegetables than I did.  I’d go out in the morning and see my bell peppers half eaten laying on the ground.  Same with the tomatoes.  I tried sprinkling black pepper and cayenne pepper.  Didn’t do a thing.  I stockpiled some stones on the porch to throw at them.  They’d move just out of reach of the stone I threw and sit there and look at me.

It got so bad that I gave up.  They won.  I decided to grow flowers.

But over the fall and the winter I ran across information on composting and square foot gardening.  I digested tons of information on the subjects during the winter and even made a few small batches of compost over the winter in plastic storage bins. 

The garden is coming along beautifully.  I had a few cabbage worms which I hand picked (actually I took a stick and knocked them off and then took a leaf and squished them…can’t touch the little buggers).  I had a couple of rounds of them in early summer, and they went away.  I had a short-lived infestation of white flies around the tomatoes.  I mixed up a concoction of garlic powder, a little dishwashing liquid and a little oil.  I sprayed two evenings in a row and once again a week later.  No more white flies. 

Now, almost at the end of summer, the squirrels have found my tomatoes.  I went outside and saw my biggest tomato had been half eaten by a squirrel.  I guess he wanted to share with me because he did leave me half. 

Okay.  I’ve been lucky this whole summer.  I threw it in the compost pile.

The next morning, same thing.  My second biggest tomato has been violated by that @#%*@ squirrel.  I decided I’ll remove temptation from the squirrel.  I picked all the tomatoes that were ripening on the lower part of the stems.  But I knew I needed a deterrent, otherwise he’d be back as soon as some more tomatoes started ripening.

So, what is the Secret Sauce?  It’s a little Me Juice (a/k/a urine).  Now, don’t say ewww.  It’s in a cup that’s sunken in the ground so that it won’t tip over and spill…although, you can use urine in your compost as a nitrogen boost.

When I come outside, the squirrels run.  I figured if I left a little scent of me in the garden it would fool them.  So far it’s worked.  No more squirrel-bitten tomatoes.

Don’t be afraid to try this at home.  We organic gardeners have to use what Mother Nature gave us.

Happy Gardening!!!

Flickr Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

