Wiggly Worm Woes

With summer slowly fading away and fall fast approaching I’m looking into something to help keep away the winter blues that are likely to come when you’re looking outside at bare trees and snow-covered ground. I’m toying with the idea of trying vermicomposting. Vermicomposting is the practice of using worms as living garbage disposals. You give them your food scraps (vegetable peelings, egg shells, spent coffee grounds, used tea bags, but no meats or fats), you can even give them paper products, and they give you super rich compost, a/k/a worm poop.

The concept is great: Another way to reduce your carbon footprint; keep garbage out of the landfills; make one of the best natural soil amendments for your garden. The only problem is I HATE the sight of worms. I look at them and they just creep me out.

So, what I’ve been doing is trying to desensitize myself to the sight of the lovely (yuck, yuck, yuck) worm.composting%20worms

I’ve been reading about vermicomposting and making myself look at the pictures on-line. There’s a ton of information out there. I found a very good instructional video on UTube explaining how to construct your bin, how to set it up, and how to maintain the bin once the worms are added. I also found an informative PowerPoint presentation with animations about the wonderful world of vermicomposting.

Everybody tries to build a better mousetrap, and everybody tries to build a better vermicomposter. Here are a couple of interesting versions I’ve found. They range from functional to chic to downright creepy.

If I decide to actually start vermicomposting, I’ll make my bin out of two storage containers. The one with the worms will sit completely inside the other one with absolutely no holes in it and a screen on top. That way if my new pets (yuck, yuck) escape, they’ll only be able to escape into the second bin. I’d hate to have escaping worms on my hands like the young lady featured in another UTube video.

I stopped by one of my old fishing places yesterday (yes, I love to fish). I met a guy who was fishing with red wigglers that he had stored in a potato chip bag. He told me that he dug them up right there at the park. Of course, economically savvy (uh, cheap) person that I am, a light bulb came on. Guess where I’ll be getting my compost worms?

You may be asking if I love to fish, how do I bait my hook? Do I bug everybody around me asking them to bait my hook? I used to…until I realized you weren’t too popular when you were making a fisherman put down his fishing pole to bait your hook and his fish got away during the process. So, what I do now is wear gloves, two pairs of gloves, one latex so no worm juice will get on me and one really thick pair so I can’t feel them when they start wiggling, understandably so, when I start stabbing through their flesh so I can try to satisfy my desire to catch the fishy, fishy in the brook. “Real” fishermen laugh at me, but I don’t care. After catching a few fish with large, slimmy, wiggly night crawlers, worms are just yuck now.

See…I’ve desensitized myself down to one yuck.

For those of you with pets, you might consider composting as a way to get rid of your pet poop. You wouldn’t be doing it to make compost as a soil fertilizer, you’d be doing it to keep the poop out of the land fills. Pet poop should never go into compost that will be used for growing plants for human consumption as it may contain undesirable pathogens.

That’s it for now.

Happy Gardening!!!!

Flickr Tags: ,,
Leave a Reply

