Compost Heating Up

My compost has started to heat up.  After I added the debris from cleaning up around the side of the house, which consisted mostly of sedum and hosta stalks and leaves, I added water, fluffed the stuff up and later that night it had gone to 80 degrees.  I told myself I would not touch it for the next three days to see what would happen.  The next night it was up to 100. 

I couldn’t help myself.  I had to dig around in it.  I told myself I was doing the compost a favor by introducing more oxygen into it (as opposed to dissipating the little heat it had generated already).

The next morning it was up to 110.  I can reclaim the title of Master Composter of the 3 foot  by 1 1/2 foot by 1 1/2 foot bin.

Happy Gardening!!!!

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

