Micro Mini Greenhouse_Recycling Plastic Bags

You ever buy any comforter sets? They come in those nice clear plastic bags with the zippered top. They make excellent micro mini portable greenhouses for hardening your seedlings.

04-09-09-6

I had a piece of hard cardboard that I used to make a bottom so that the plants wouldn’t fall over when I moved the little greenhouse. Then I eyeballed an aluminum pan that would hold the cups, so in they went. And I knew I didn’t want 100 percent of the sun’s rays beaming down on these babies that have hardly ever left home, so I wrapped the aluminum pan in another plastic bag for insulation. And because I didn’t want the plastic to collapse on top of the seedlings I happened to glance over and saw the homemade plant markers. I grabbed a few of them and stuck them in the four corner pots and a couple in the middle.

Viola…micro mini portable greenhouse.

04-09-09

Yeah, I know it looks a little ghetto, but it serves a purpose. It’s easy to pick up and move around the yard. You can unzip it to let in a little air when it’s warm.

04-09-09-2

On second thought, it looks a lot ghetto, but it still serves a purpose. It’s eco-friendly (recycle and repurpose) and the price is right. Economical savviness at work again.

You could get real fancy and put some permanent supports in the corners. I didn’t have the time or the energy to make it pretty. I’ll save that for another day.

Happy Gardening!!!!

8 Comments

  1. engineeredgarden said,

    April 9, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Cool! Oh…if I get my hands on one of those, that’ll help me alot. Ghetto or not, I think it’s awesome! Thanks!

    EG

  2. Liisa_RWC said,

    April 9, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    OMG what at great idea! I have a few of those bags around the house somewhere.

    Liisa

  3. gardengoodies said,

    April 10, 2009 at 6:09 am

    Hey, EG and Lisa:
    This justifies my being a pack rat. It’s hard for me to throw things away, and when I throw something away or give something away I always come up with something I could have used it for. I knew these bags would come in handy for something.

  4. April 10, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Gardeners see the world through different eyes than the “normal” folk. This week was Mr. H’s birthday, and when daughter brought in his cake, everyone but me saw “cake”. I saw “awesome mini-greenhouse”. The container had a really large and sturdy bottom and a huge clear dome! And it is outside on the patio table at this moment, filled with my marigolds that were growing spindly inside.

    Granny

    • gardengoodies said,

      April 10, 2009 at 11:06 am

      I like that in you. Yes, we are a breed apart. I think we have a little bit more creative juices running through our veins.

      Happy birthday wishes to Mr. H and I hope the marigolds enjoy their new home.

  5. Barb said,

    May 14, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Are those little medicine cups?

    • gardengoodies said,

      May 14, 2009 at 9:42 pm

      No, they’re a little bigger. They’re just plastic drinking cups, and I’m pretty sure they’re six ounces. If I had more room, I’d use the 16 ounce cups because the plants outgrow the six ouncecups pretty fast.

  6. May 22, 2010 at 9:30 am

    [...] Square Foot Gardening) Tags: dividing perennials, Frugal Gardening, grow bags Remember the Ghetto Greenhouse?  [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

